CarryFacts published 2026-10-16 · Sources checked 2026-10-16
External reports concern historical samples. Current SKU equivalence remains unverified; this is not a CarryFacts hands-on test.
Reviewed sample: Motion Lab · Active Commute · Reviewed production revision unconfirmed · Reviewed capacity not separately established in this analysis. Historical publisher sample only; current production equivalence, stock and individual fit remain unverified. A complete CarryFacts specification record is not yet linked.
During riding, the reviewer reports that the hip belt slipped, causing the rigid shoulder supports to sink into and painfully dig into the shoulders. The reviewer reports that Motion Lab Active Commute is designed to shift pack weight away from the shoulders through its unusual carrying system. Its external aluminium support structure and hard nylon central spine are intended to position the load across the hips instead.
A bottom pocket expands into the main compartment and separates shoes, towels, or wet clothing from clean clothes. The bag includes mesh bottle pockets, a soft-lined valuables pocket, and two readily accessible pockets on its rib straps.
Reported strengths
- The reviewer praises the layout, which provides two main compartments and several smaller pockets for everyday commuter storage.
- The main compartment holds a clothing change, while a separate fleece- or neoprene-protected section accommodates a laptop or tablet.
- A bottom pocket expands into the main compartment and separates shoes, towels, or wet clothing from clean clothes.
Reported trade-offs
- The reviewer found the bag initially uncomfortable and complicated to put on, recommending an instructional video before use properly.
- During riding, the reviewer reports that the hip belt slipped, causing the rigid shoulder supports to sink into and painfully dig into the shoulders.
- The reviewer suggests Active Commute may work for a sedate commute on a very upright town bike in practice.
Scope and limits
- Historical publisher sample only; current production equivalence, stock and individual fit remain unverified.
- Attributed analysis of one original publisher review; CarryFacts has not performed a hands-on test.
- Commercial relationships have not been separately established. Read the original review for its full disclosures.
Original sources
- Cycling Weekly — original source ↗
Author not stated · Published: 2019-08-19 · Updated: not stated · Checked: 2026-10-16
Motion Lab Active Commute review; reviewed identity: Motion Lab Active Commute; Reviewed production revision unconfirmed; Reviewed capacity not separately established in this analysis
Affiliate links: unknown; Sample: unknown; Sponsorship: unknown